Planting Dreams Book Series

This series is based on Hubalek’s father’s Swedish ancestors who came first to Illinois, and then on to Salemsborg, Kansas in 1869. Thoughtful writing covers the time period of 1868-1919 and tells why the Swedish immigrants decided to leave, their journey, and their life on the Kansas prairie.

This book series is based on stories and photos from the author’s Johnson descendants, along with fiction depicting Kansas history during this time period.

Planting Dreams

Swedish Immigrant’s Journey to America
Book 1, 1868-1869

Drought has scorched the farmland of Sweden and there is no harvest to feed families or livestock. Taxes are due and there is little money to pay them. But there is a ship sailing for America, where the government is giving land to anyone who wants to claim a homestead. Can you imagine starting a journey to an unknown country, no knowing what the country would be like, where you would live, or how you would survive? Did you make the right decision to leave in the first place?

Read a preview from Planting Dreams now.

Click here to order on Amazon and for Kindle Unlimited

Cultivating Hope

Homesteading on the Great Plains
Book 2, 1869-1886

Can you imagine being isolated in the middle of a treeless grassland with only a dirt roof over your head? Having to feed your children with whatever wild plants or animals you could find living on the prairie? Sweating to plow the sod, plant the seed, cultivate the crop- only to lose it all by a hailstorm right before you harvest it? The second book, in the Planting Dreams series portrays Swedish immigrant Charlotta Johnson as she and her husband build a farmstead on the Kansas Prairie.

Read a preview of Cultivating Hope now.

Click here to order on Amazon and for Kindle Unlimited

Harvesting Faith

Life on the Changing Prairie
Book 3, 1886-1919

Imagine surveying your farmstead on the last day of your life, reviewing the decades of joys, hardships, and changes that have taken place on the eighty acres you have called home for the past fifty years. Would you feel at peace or find remorse at the decisions that took place in your life?
This third book in the Planting Dreams book series portrays Charlotta Johnson as she recalls the events that shaped her family’s destiny.

Read a preview from Harvesting Faith now

Click here to order on Amazon and for Kindle Unlimited