Butter in the Well Series

Butter in the Well book series by Linda K. Hubalekby Linda K. Hubalek

“Could well be the most endearing ‘first settler’ account ever told. Once a reader starts the books they are compelled to keep reading to see what will happen next on the isolated prairie homestead. Not to be missed!”- Caper’s Family Bookstore

Linda Hubalek’s first historical fiction book series is based on the Swedish immigrant family that homesteaded her family farm in central Kansas. They are written in the form of diaries during the time period of 1869-1919.

Buy the autographed Butter in the Well set of 4 books now. Free shipping!


Butter in the Well: A Scandinavian Woman’s Tale of Life on the Prairie

Book 1, Historical Diary 1868-1888

Read the endearing account of Kajsa Swenson Runneberg, who recounts how she and her family built up the farm on the unsettled Kansas prairie.

Written in the form of a diary, you’ll live this Swedish immigrant woman’s thoughts, dreams and fears.

For more information and how to buy the Butter in the Well ebook or book>>>

You can also read about and buy Smör i Brunnenthe Swedish translated version of Butter in the Well also.

Prairie Bloomin’: The Prairie Blossoms for an Immigrant’s Daughter

Book 2, Historical Diary 1889-1900

Through her book Prairie Bloomin’ (formeraly titled Prärieblomman), Linda Hubalek continues the story of the Swedish immigrant family featured in her book Butter in the Well. This tender, touching diary continues the saga of Kajsa’s family through her daughter, Alma, as she blossoms into a young woman.

For more information and how to buy the Prairie Bloomin’ ebook or book>>>

Egg Gravy: Authentic Recipes from the Butter in the Well Series

Book 3, Diary Quotes and Recipes

Fades recipes- we’ve all come across them from time to time in our lives- either handwritten by ourselves or by another person in our family, or as old yellowed newspaper clippings stuck in a cookbook of sorts.

Everyone who’s ever treasured a family recipe or marveled at the special touches Mother added to her cooking will enjoy this collection of recipes and wisdom from the homestead family.

For more information and how to buy the Egg Gravy ebook or book>>>

Looking Back: The Final Tale of Life on the Prairie

Book 4, Historical Diary 1919

In this fourth book of the Butter in the Well series, pioneer woman Kajsa Svensson Runeberg, now age 75, looks back at the changes she has experienced on the farm she homesteaded 51 years ago. She reminisces about the past, resolves the present situation, and looks toward their future off the farm. Don’t miss this heart-rending touching finale!

For more information and how to buy the Looking Back ebook or book>>>


Linda’s Books & Series

Prairie Bloomin'

Autographed. Book 2, Butter in the Well Series.
$11.95 (tax incl.)
by lindahubalek

Rania Ropes a Rancher

Autographed. Book 1, Brides with Grit Series
$11.95 (tax incl.)
by lindahubalek

Egg Gravy

Autographed. Book 3, Butter in the Well Series
$11.95 (tax incl.)
by lindahubalek

Follow Linda