Planting Dreams by Linda K. Hubalek

Planting Dreams

Written by lindahubalek on . Posted in

Read a preview from Planting Dreams now.

Buy for US Kindle
Buy for UK Kindle


Buy audio book of Planting Dreams on Amazon’s Audible.

A Swedish Immigrant’s Journey to America
Book 1, 1868-1869

Readers have compared the Planting Dreams series to The Emigrants series by Vilhelm Moberg and a more realistic Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

This first book in the Planting Dreams series portrays Swedish immigrant Charlotta Johnson as she ponders the decision about leaving her homeland, how they will travel to America, and worries about her family’ future in a new country.

This book series is based on the author’s ancestors, and contains actual maps of where they traveled and settled. Each chapter is written as a thought-provoking story as the wife of the family travels to a new country to find a new life for her children.

Why did this family leave? Drought scorched the farmland of Sweden and there was no harvest to feed families or livestock. Taxes were due and there was little money to pay them. But there were ships sailing to America, where the government gave land to anyone who wanted to claim a homestead.

Can you imagine starting a journey to an unknown country, not knowing what the country would be like, where you would live, or how you would survive? Did you make the right decision to leave in the first place?

Follow Charlotta and her family as they travel by ship and rail from their homeland in 1868, to their homestead on the open plains of Kansas.

Harvesting Faith by Linda K. Hubalek

Harvesting Faith

Written by lindahubalek on . Posted in

Read a preview from Harvesting Faith now

Buy for US Kindle
Buy for UK Kindle

Life on the Changing Prairie
Book 3, 1886-1919

Imagine surveying your farmstead on the last day of your life, reviewing the decades of joys, hardships, and changes that have taken place on the eighty acres you have called home for the past fifty years. Would you feel at peace or find remorse at the decisions that took place in your life?

This third book in the Planting Dreams book series portrays Charlotta Johnson as she recalls the events that shaped her family’s destiny. A mixture of fact and fiction, this book reviews the events that shaped this Swedish immigrant’s family as her children reached adulthood and has families of their own.

Join Charlotta as she reminisces about the important places and events in her past as she bids farewell to her mortal life on the Kansas prairie.

Cultivating Hope by Linda K. Hubalek

Cultivating Hope

Written by lindahubalek on . Posted in

Read a preview of Cultivating Hope now.

Buy for US Kindle
Buy for UK Kindle

Homesteading on the Great Plains
Book 2, 1869-1886

Can you imagine being isolated in the middle of a treeless grassland with only a dirt roof over your head? Having to feed your children with whatever wild plants or animals you could find living on the prairie? Sweating to plow the sod, plant the seed, cultivate the crop- only to lose it all by a hailstorm right before you harvest it?

The second book, in the Planting Dreams series portrays Swedish immigrant Charlotta Johnson as she and her husband build a farmstead on the Kansas Prairie.

This family faced countless challenges as they homesteaded on America’s Great Plains during the 1800s. Years of hard work develop the land and improve the quality of life for her family- but not without a price.

0 0items

Your shopping cart is empty.

Items/Products added to Cart will show here.